My makes

Festive frocks!

Hi there! Hope you’re enjoying the run up to Christmas? I’m slowly starting to unwind now I’ve finished work for the year and school has finished.  Now if I could just get my eldest to relax a little, talk about worn out!

It’s just a quick post today to talk about 3 dresses which I’ve already posted on Instagram.  I fell victim to temptation when @lisalooby1234 posted a photo on Instagram of the new jersey fabrics she’d received from Fabric Styles, a website I hadn’t come across before.

I went and had a nosey and, at around £4 a metre, had soon added 3 different designs to my shopping basket.  I chose a metre each of a red print with snowmen and a black print with Santa, and 2 metres of a black fabric with a reindeer print. Clearly sewing for the girls was the excuse, but inspired by those skater dress adverts which keep appearing on Facebook (is that just me?) I decided to join the fun.


I quickly made a version for each of the girls, using the Kitschy Coo Skater Dress, which I’ve used before last year. I once again went with the actual measurements of my girls.  The table from the pattern indicates that, for a chest size of 25″, a size 5/6 should be made and, for a chest size of 23″, a size 3/4 should be made.

Both of these are at least one size name if not 2 below what I’d normally make for the girls but I went with it, and I’m very glad I did.  The dresses I have will probably fit the girls next Christmas as well, if not the one after.  But they are very pleased with them and they are wearable, if not a little long.


I should mention that my 6 year old girl normally wears a size 7/8 so she is very tall for her age; little sister is a little shorter proportionately, but still one of the tallest at her nurseries. Be warned before running this pattern up for your kids!


For myself, I made the grown up version of the same pattern, the Lady Skater dress. I’d been resisting buying this, thinking I could make do with the Moneta for stretch dresses, but I’ve really got to prefer the non-gathered waist this pattern offers and so I gave in.

And I’m quite pleased that I did.  The pattern, like its little sister, comes together easily.  I prefer the finish I get with my usual method of neck binding ( I normally sew both shoulder seams, sew the neck band into a circle, and then stretch to meet the neckline space as sewing; this pattern has you sew one shoulder seam, attach the neck binding and then complete the circle) but that’s easy to replace.

I have already made a second version of this; the adjustments I’ve made make the fit spot on for me, but this version is totally wearable.  I’m just kicking myself for not adding pockets: all dresses should have pockets!


Anyway, for a Christmas dress, it’s a lot of fun, particularly with a gold belt and my new gold Clarks brogues.  Also, it’s a lot comfier in warm rooms (like, say, the school’s Christmas Fair) than a big wooly comedy jumper, so win all round!

So, at long last, I have done what I said I would never, ever do and made a dress which allows me to match my children.  Ain’t Christmas grand?


Becca x

12 thoughts on “Festive frocks!

  1. It looks fab Becca! Sorry for corrupting you but feel it’s an obligation of being a good IG friend 😜. I wore mine to Meadowhall last week and was absolutely buzzing when the assistants in Ted Baker said how much they loved my dress! Small things eh! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great dresses, your girls look adorable and your dress is so fab that I wish I had one, maybe next year 🙂 I agree with the gathered waist too, I’m going to check out the link now because I’ve not heard of them before either.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

